News and Press

CFA Announces Call for Entries for 2009 Projects of the Year Awards

Mt. Vernon, Iowa (August 18, 2008) -- The Concrete Foundations Association (CFA) – an influential organization within the construction industry that serves as an informational and networking tool for its members and carries out a multitude of educational and promotional efforts for the advancement of concrete foundation technology – has announced the call for entries for the “2009 Projects of the Year” Award, formerly known as the “Basement of the Year”.

According to Ed Sauter, executive director of CFA, the Basement of the Year competition enables foundation contractors to display the wide range of projects that are being completed today. The technological advancements that have been made in the poured wall industry allow contractors to complete complex projects more efficiently, which helps ensure homeowners’ dreams are realized, said Sauter.

“Each year the projects submitted to this competition get more complicated and demonstrate the diversity afforded through poured wall foundations,” said Sauter.  “With the increased focus we have created on technical and business competence, exposing the industry to the craftsmanship that exists is of utmost value.”

Cases in point are the winning structures from last year’s competition that ranged from a 4,300 sq.ft. basement with radius walls and over 150 yards of concrete to a basement of 25,000 sq.ft.  Also seen were projects incorporating free-spanning concrete stairs and a commercial rock quarry underground storage building.  These projects were voted most complex, most challenging and representative of the level of craftsmanship delivered throughout the CFA network by the very contractors that face projects like these every week.

Is your business concrete foundations or above-grade concrete structures with removable concrete forms?  If so, you should take advantage of this unique industry opportunity to display your work to the industry.  To enter a project in this year’s competition, you must be a CFA Contractor member. Non-members do not qualify for the awards program. The deadline for submissions is Nov. 28, 2008 and there remains no charge for each submittal.

This year continues the broadened categories seen the last two years available for submittal including:

  • Single Family < 2,000 sq.ft.
  • Single Family 2,000 to 5,000 sq.ft.
  • Single Family > 5,000 sq.ft.
  • Commercial / Multi-Family
  • Non-Wall Structural Element
  • Above-Grade Home

Voting is based upon many qualifications including the advancement of the use of concrete foundation technology. Attention to significant footing details, outstanding wall features, such as curved walls, columns, complex corners, etc., and the overcoming of any complexities or challenges along the way are all basis for consideration. Voters will also look for any special materials used or new and innovative advancements. 

Once again, the contractor network of the CFA, who understand the market because they are members of the industry, will judge the competition.   Voting takes place at the CFA booth (N2027) during the World of Concrete in Las Vegas, Feb. 3-6, 2009 in Las Vegas and online at beginning January 1st. 

Free registration to the World of Concrete exhibits and seminar discounts can be obtained from the CFA website or through their various media sources.

The rules and categories for submission can be found on the CFA website at