News and Press

CFA Announces Call for Entries for 2008 Basement of the Year Awards

Mt. Vernon, Iowa (November 5, 2007) -- The Concrete Foundation Association (CFA) – an influential organization within the construction industry that serves as an informational and networking tool for its members and carries out a multitude of educational and promotional efforts for the advancement of concrete foundation technology – has announced the call for entries for the 2008 Basement of the Year Award.

According to Ed Sauter, executive director of CFA, the Basement of the Year competition has produced some of the most incredible works of concrete foundation creativity in recent years. Through this program, foundation contractors display the wide range of projects that are being completed today, some of which are unbelievable and largely unrecognized because they inevitably are buried beneath the final grade. The technological advancements that have been made in the poured wall industry allow contractors to complete complex projects more efficiently, which helps ensure homeowners’ dreams are realized, said Sauter.

“Each year the projects submitted to this competition get more complicated and demonstrate the diversity afforded through poured wall foundations,” said Sauter.

The winners of the 2007 competition capped the largest crop of submitted projects ever for the CFA. They also represented the broadest geographical diversity ranging from California to South Carolina and the broadest application range from medium- and large-sized homes to commercial and above-grade structures. The winning entries from last year can be viewed on the CFA website at by selecting CFA Awards from the menu. This link will also provide access to the entry form and requirements for this year’s competition.

To enter a project in this year’s competition, you must be a CFA Contractor member. Non-members do not qualify for the awards program. The deadline for submissions is Nov. 16, 2007.

This year continues the recent success for the CFA in expanding the program to address the many categories of project development that exists throughout the association experience. This year’s award categories include:

  • Single Family < 2,000 sq.ft.
  • Single Family 2,000 to 5,000 sq.ft.
  • Single Family > 5,000 sq.ft.
  • Commercial / Multi-Family
  • Non-Wall Structural Element
  • Above-Grade Home

Judging will be based upon many qualifications including the advancement of the use of concrete foundation technology. Attention to significant footing details, outstanding wall features, such as curved walls, columns, complex corners, etc., and the overcoming of any complexities or challenges along the way are all basis for consideration. Judges will also look for any special materials used or new and innovative advancements. The competition will be judged using a combination tally of input from the CFA’s website and the CFA booth (N2027) during the World of Concrete in Las Vegas, Jan. 22-25, 2007 in Las Vegas. Free registration to the World of Concrete can be obtained from the CFA website.

The rules and categories for submission can be found on the CFA website at

About the CFA
The Concrete Foundations Association (CFA) provides promotional materials, educational seminars, networking opportunities, and technical and informative meetings for its members. The CFA also publishes a newsletter to keep its members abreast of important developments in the industry and to inform them of progress on board activities and committees.

The CFA has members in 26 states and Canada. Members consist primarily of foundation contractors with firm sizes ranging from six to over 100 employees. Member firms construct anywhere from twelve to 1,200 basements annually.


More Information

For more award details, please contact the CFA at (319) 895-694