The History of the Concrete Foundations Association

Originally formed as the Poured Concrete Wall Contractors of America, Inc. (PCWCA), the Concrete Foundations Association (CFA) was formed in 1975 to serve the interests of poured wall contractors.

The idea for the organization can be traced to a dinner meeting, held December 1974 in Lansing, Michigan, with Bob Sawyer, Larry Clark, and Charlie Jones. As they discussed ways to help build the industry and their markets, they came up with the idea to form an association for poured wall contractors. With much enthusiasm, these leaders agreed to hold the first poured wall contractor conference in Chicago, Ill. to formulate guidelines for the organization.

On January 16, 1975, Sawyer, Clark and Jones met with Dennis Anderson, Jack Boarman, Chilton Hedrick, Earl Wildenberg, Owen Wright and attorney Samuel Goldman. After defining a poured wall contractor as "one who owned a set of residential commercial forms," the group estimated their target audience at about 3,000 wall contractors in the U.S. and the "National Poured Wall Association" was officially established on Feb. 10 of that year.

The efforts of these early pioneers were rewarded as they managed to quickly increase the membership of the new association. In fact, by the second gathering -- which was held in March 24, 1975 in Kansas City and served as the first general membership meeting -- 20 contractors were in attendance. Within three years, the PCWCA had grown to almost 50 members.

As membership grew and the Association found its niche and role in the industry, the name changes continued. In 1975, the Association's name was changed to the "Poured Concrete Wall Contractors of American, Inc." (PCWCA). In 1990, the name was again changed to the Concrete Foundations Association to reflect its growing membership which included suppliers, manufacturers, and even a few design professional involved in the foundation industry. Later, the name was expanded to include the words "of North America" to reflect the inclusion of Canadian members.

The Association's original bylaws mandated the election of five officers and Clark, a contractor from Lansing, Michigan, became the first president and Bob Sawyer served as the first Executive Director (1975 -1980). The Association has been led by a succession of industry leaders throughout its history.


© 2005 CFA - All Rights Reserved Home | CFA | Foundations | Events | Products and Services | News | Awards | Search | Contact | Privacy